Just another WordPress.com site

“Free your mind, and the rest will follow.” ~ En Vogue. Not only is that one of my favorite songs that happens to be on my running list and on my iPod ever since I started training for my first marathon in 2006, but it was the quote written on the board of my Weight Watcher’s meeting today!

Free your mind!!!  Today we talked about Power Spaces.  What does your environment look like?  How does it help you on your journey?  And how does your environment play a part in your mind…or well being?

This is one of the subjects that Bill Phillips addresses in his book Transformation.  It’s one of the steps you gotta follow. Clean out and organize the spaces in your life.  It could be your kitchen or the specific spaces in your kitchen (like the fridge). When you open up the fridge, do you see all the junk food first, or is it a safe place to go to for healthy food choices?  Are the cabinets in your kitchen organized so that cooking is more efficient and fun?  What about the bedroom? Is it clean, warm and peaceful ready for a good nights sleep or is it cluttered preventing your mind from shutting off?

I know I always think better when my spaces are peaceful and clutter free.  I love cooking in a kitchen that is clean and organized.  I love sleeping in a bedroom that has everything all put away.  I love that feeling of zen.

The same can be said of relationships in your life.  Do you have relationships that are drama laden?  Do you have relationships that keep taking a toll on you emotionally or constantly have you stressed. This is keeping your mind occupied and worried.  So what exactly are you getting from these relationships that make them so valuable and worth keeping around? Seriously?   Maybe it’s time to let go of some relationships and free up your mind to think of other things.

What I have found in the last 45 weeks is that when I free up mind, the rest will follow.  That means when I take care of life and remove the obstacles and free up my emotions to flow and release myself from the stresses that I had,then my weight started to fall off too!  It made it easier to shed the extra pounds. By releasing my worries, I released my excess weight.  Perfect!

So this week I will ask you the same question that was asked of us in the meeting today.  When you are faced with a choice, whether it is about food to eat, actions to take, purchases to make, friends to hang out with ask yourself this question:  “Does it contribute to or inhibit my well being?”   I love that term “well being“!  This isn’t about weight loss; it’s about a healthy life style. It’s about my being well in all areas of my life!

I wrote that question on my Weight Watchers weight record chart.  I am also writing this on my goals board and will keep this question in my car as well.  It’s something to keep in mind every where I go and with every decision I make.  It will help me keep my mind free and clear!

With that said, today was  a big day on the scale!  I released 4.2# for a total of 51.2#!!!!!  I received my 50# charm today!

   

Leave a comment